Margit Hideg

Lunch and Learn, The Wisdom of the Trees

In this post, we hear from the participants of the workshop hosted by Ericsson in Kanata as they explain how they chose to visually express their identity as a tree.

“This is my tree. When I think about the roots and the crown, I think about where I came from and where I am now. I am now in Canada and I come from China and lived in Japan and also have worked for a Sweden Company. [She represented these by drawing flags in the crown area of her tree] But the root, I think all of that is coming from the power of knowledge, diversity being able to appreciate a different culture and to adapt to my environment. That includes language, technical skills and cultural comprehension. [She drew alphabetic letters, numbers and symbols in the roots area] I think that’s given me a very strong, solid foundation that has set my dream free – so I have the two wings. I think I would like to go to more places, experience more in this world, other cultures, other lands, other people. So, that’s how I came to this picture.”

blog3

“The entire thing represents a tree. You see the two parts that are brown, signifies the soil. And two parts of water [2 blue triangles] and sunlight [yellow triangles] – the essential components for a tree. The tree produces beautiful flowers [pink triangle] leaves [green triangle with many white and red spots] and other fruits also the white and the red symbolizes Canada and ultimately we are reaching towards the sky so that’s the blue. The geometry is representing the mathematical side of me, being an engineer and the colours represent diversity in cultures – which is my culture.”

lunch2“I come from Hong Kong, I think I have a humble beginning, but I am a caterpillar that will turn into a butterfly in this diverse nation full of freedom and opportunities and abundance.”

blog3.1“This is a person – supposedly! [She laughs at the blue figure at the trunk of the tree] And this is Canada. [She point to the ground that the tree grows out of that is coloured as the Canadian flag.] And this is the hands as the roots. That’s the person and this is the background of a person – they are an immigrant. [She points to a Venezuelen flag in the crown of the tree]. I am from Venezuela. And this is the freedom that we have in Canada. [She points to three birds flying near the tree] And these are my three kids.”

blog3.3“So this represents our family, we have four children – my wife and I. The tree represents the importance of family structure in society. It represents the importance of fostering the growth of our children and allowing them to be independent and make, hopefully, good choices!”

lunch4

This picture I was trying to convey Ericsson values and as part of network society as how we relate to diversity and inclusion. One of the things I really like about Ericsson is their complete interest in doing good things for the world. The trunk shows the strength of our values, diversity and inclusion and how that will help make the world a better place. In the sense of supporting the whole global society, network society and actually helping diversity no matter where it sits in the world. And I was trying to draw a hand as it sits in the branches to show that this is a supporting factor to help enable everything. And along with this is a little bit of love sprinkled in [she points to the hearts drawn around the tree].”

lunch 5

Quotes by workshop participants from Margit Hideg’s project The Wisdom of the Trees

 

Leave a Reply

